New England Road Trip help, please

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 3rd, 2024, 04:56 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

This is my first time posting here, so I hope I’m doing this correctly. We’re planning a New England Road Trip and would greatly appreciate any feedback on our itinerary. We’re not totally locked into this, so any suggestions would be great. We are two very active and healthy senior citizens. We don’t care about the beaches and swimming, so don’t really care if the ocean is cold. We do like to hike, but don’t consider ourselves serious hikers. We look forward to easy hikes, beautiful scenery, historical areas, and of course some wonderful food!

This trip will be early to mid June. We will be starting our trip from Atlanta, but will be visiting family in Burlington, VT, so Burlington will be our jumping off point. We plan to avoid interstate highways except for getting around/through Boston. I really don’t want to drive in the city itself. Here’s what we have tentatively planned.

Please let me know if this seems reasonable. Thank you in advance for any advice given.

Day 1: Drive from Burlington, VT to Lincoln, NH. Hike the Flume Gorge, check out The Basin, etc. Spend the night in Lincoln.

Day 2: Drive from Lincoln, NH to Mt. Washington, NH, via the Kancamagus Scenic Highway. Take the 2 hour guided tour to the summit, then drive to somewhere near Augusta, ME where we will spend the night. This is just to make the drive shorter the next day.

Days 3 & 4: Drive from Augusta, ME to Bar Harbor. Spend 2 nights in Bar Harbor. Do Acadia National Park, drive Cadillac Mountain, etc.

Day 5: Drive from Bar Harbor to Wells/Ogunquit, making stops in Camden and Boothbay Harbor for sightseeing, lunch, etc.

Day 6: Drive from Wells/Ogunquit to Humarock, MA, where we have a VRBO for 3 nights. Will make stops along the way for, lunch, sightseeing, etc in Salem and anyplace else that looks interesting.