Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Africa & the Middle East
Reload this Page >

Road trip loop Kenya - Uganda - Tanzania. Would love your recs on our route!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 18th, 2023, 06:04 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi everyone - my fiancé and I are planning a trip to Kenya, Uganda, and Tanzania in July for 4 weeks and have decided to rent a 4x4 (with rooftop tent) to explore the country. I've been saving up for this trip for two years and am so excited we're finally doing it! I did an overland trip through Africa 15 years ago (from Namibia to Botswana) and am comfortable roughing it along the way. I'm so excited to be going back to East Africa this time, and am hoping to put an amazing itinerary together for the two of us. With that in mind, I had a few questions:
  • Are there trustworthy 4x4 rental (with rooftop tent) businesses in Nairobi or Kampala that you would recommend we rent from? Are there permitting, visa, or border restrictions we should be aware of driving through Kenya, Uganda, and Tanzania?
  • We're interested in exploring the natural beauty of these countries and prefer going to places off-the-beaten-path since we'll be self-driving. Are there any specific places (lakes, mountains, national parks) that you would highly recommend visiting?
  • In Namibia and Botswana, we were able to find many 4x4 campsites with facilities along the road fairly regularly meant for overlanders. Is the same true with Kenya, Uganda, and Tanzania?
  • Are there any parks that are worth seeing (that tend to be less crowded)? My favorite campsite I've ever stayed at was in Chobe National Park in Botswana (Ihaha campsite) because it offered solitude (was far from other campsites) and incredible wildlife viewing opportunities and suitable for 4x4 campers. It's beautiful:
    Road trip loop Kenya - Uganda - Tanzania. Would love your recs on our route!-oshana-reservations-ihaha-campsite...jpg